On Maintaining Perspective

Sometimes, being a law school parent is a good way to lose perspective.

I often marvel at my law school parent cohorts who have multiple children, many of them old enough to be living their own lives full of events, activities, desires, and impulses. I consider myself lucky to have a 13 month old who may be gregarious but, thankfully, does not yet schedule his own play dates or karate classes.

I’ve been more than a little stressed out this week – sorry everyone in my life for acting crazy.  This has, of course, affected my ability to just be with Remy or just stare at Remy while he sleeps or otherwise marvel at how wonderful he is. (Full disclosure: Remy’s naps are my only chance to read for class or write briefs or enter billable hours or do whatever pseudo-attorney things I do, so I have never, not even once, just stared at Remy while he sleeps.)

Creating Art is very serious business, clearly

Creating Art is very serious business, clearly

Yesterday, in a desperate attempt to get something done, I put Remy in his highchair with a piece of white paper, a box of crayons, and some honey crackers. I immediately felt like a bad mom, since I was immobilizing him and working while he was awake. I felt a little better after remembering that I had only been driven to do this after Remy refused to take an afternoon nap of any kind.

Here’s the thing, though. Remy loves to eat honey crackers or plain crackers or anything that might remotely be considered a cracker. And he has just discovered this week that he can color. So it turns out that, for awhile at least, Remy didn’t mind being trapped in the high chair.

Instead, he had a grand time coloring on the piece of paper with the crayons. Then he had a grand time coloring on his face and chest with a ball point pen. After that, he enjoyed tearing off and eating the little bits of paper that wrap around the crayons. Things deteriorated rapidly after that. He’s a baby, after all, not a saint.

I think the point that I’m trying to make is that a lot of our days are like this (although, thankfully, most of them are not so extreme). I often think I am busy and that life is stressful. I often begin to worry about the long list of things that need to get done. But then Remy and I go for a walk because it’s 70 degrees in January, or then Remy says “Owl” clearly and distinctly, for no apparent reason. Or Remy breaks into giggles and runs like a crazy person around the house.

Being a parent and something else can result in a lot of crazy. And we are all parents and something else. Sometimes it’s nice to be pulled into just being a parent. Or just reminded that your kid is always happy to just be a kid.

Remy's first crayon art

Remy’s first crayon art

One thought on “On Maintaining Perspective

Leave a Reply

