This Is Our Year

When I was 21…I got married.
Three days after I turned 22…I had my first child.
When I was 23…I had my second child.
When I was 28…I had my third child.

I am a wife, and a Mom.
As these two things, it’s hard to find balance. It’s hard to make sure that my husband has everything he needs, while trying to manage taking care of the kids as well.

And, most important, it’s hard to find time for myself.

I have a heart for serving. I love taking care of everyone. I do. I want to bless others. But sometimes, it’s easy to give so much of myself…that I have left nothing in my tank for me. But if my tank is empty, how can I truly take care of my family?

That is why I feel like it’s so important to take time for yourself. Find something you love to do…and do it.

For me, that love is cakes.

I make cakes for fun.

My mom used to do them when I was younger, and I picked up a few tricks from her. I made my first cake when Ray and I were just dating…and from that point I just started making them for birthdays and so on. So, for (roughly) the past 12 years I have done them as a hobby.

Anyway, I have been casually talking about making it my profession for the past 3 years and I always come up with an excuse. Not enough money. Not a big enough kitchen. Not enough time. Not good enough.
Blah. Blah. Blah!!

I’m tired of making excuses to NOT pursue a passion of mine!

So, Monday I registered for a class that will allow me to open up a cake business out of my own home! It will take some time, but this is the first of many steps to make this dream of mine a reality.

Just because I became a wife and a mom doesn’t mean that I lost who I was before I became those things. I still have dreams of my own, and it’s time I start pursuing them.

2015 is the year for BIG THINGS for our family!

I will be beginning the process of opening a legit cake shop and Ray will be graduating from UNC. Last December he decided to go back to college. After we had Em, it was too hard for us to finish our degrees so we never did. So, why not now?! Our kids get to see him finish something he started before they were born, and we are all so excited!

So, don’t give up on your dreams. You might take the winding road and a few detours, but if it’s really something that is meant to be, God will provide the right route.

6 thoughts on “This Is Our Year

  1. i am so excited for you, Ray and the kids! There is nothing better than leading by example. A Mommy that has her own incredible business? A Daddy graduating from college? Hard work, love of family and your faith has got you to this point…. And will follow you all to your futures! I am so proud of all of you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

