Blessing

A year after this post on family mealtime gratitude was written, I still struggle with how to feel like we are really beginning dinner and acknowledging our blessings. We still talk about our favorite things and those we are thankful for, so I suppose that is a blessing in and of itself.

Rocky Parenting

All growing up, my family said a blessing at the dinner table each night.  “God is great, God is good, and we thank him for our food…” it began.  I can recite it in my sleep, and have memories of thousands of dinners holding hands with my parents and sister, saying the words.  But after a while, saying the words became a rote task – one we did as habit, without thinking at all about what we were saying.  Now, when my boys and I eat dinner at my parents’ house, with my parents and my three teenaged sisters, my boys hold hands and stare blankly at the rest of us while we speed through the blessing.

My oldest has some concept of a higher power, but my husband is an athiest, and the idea of saying a blessing to thank a god for our food is foreign at our…

View original post 335 more words

Leave a Reply

