In Sickness and in Health: Lessons I don’t like to learn

medsThis month my son and I got sick – really sick. It was a surprise; we are the ones who never get the flu, never get the colds my daughters share back and forth with their friends. We just tend to remain bug free. But, this time, it was our turn. It was a nasty thing that incapacitated us and left us wheezing for air. Suddenly my landscape was filled with nebulizer treatments, asthma medication, steroids, and of course antibiotics. We were sick for two full weeks. I still don’t have the full use of my voice. Recovery has been slow.

So, today, I am thankful for health. I am not talking about being super healthy – like the pinnacle of health that leads people to run marathons (though I greatly admire those individuals). I am talking about the ability to move through the day and take normal breaths. I am talking about the ability to leave the house. While I was sick I felt helpless. I felt listless. My body wasn’t functioning well and neither was my mind.

Sometimes we don’t notice what gifts we truly have until they are gone. What a gift walking across my living room floor devoid of pain was. What a gift to be able to go trick or treating with my children on Halloween in past years – rather than sitting at home and having the pictures texted to me. Sometimes we get so caught up in life, that we forget to give thanks and praise for the most beautiful gifts of all. And one of the greatest gifts, the one I was without for two full weeks – is health.

Of course, this had me thinking about the people out there who don’t have this gift. The people who deal with chronic health issues or illness on a daily basis. The people for whom walking across the living room floor is a big deal. The people who are locked out of living because things like family activities are impossible. I have to sit and admire the bravery of some of these people. By the second week, I was ready to curl up and wallow in self-pity. How do individuals move through life who face years of health issues?

And, the other side of this – now that I see how important my health is. This is the body I was given to carry forth into the world. This body is fully tied to my mental health too. That means that I need to be a better steward of that gift. I need to be a better steward of that mind/body connection.

Once upon a time, I had a daily yoga habit. I had discarded this the last few years due to a life so fractured and under so much stress that I put myself last. I know you are not supposed to do that but I am going to guess that I am not alone here and that many parents find yourself in that situation. Well, without even thinking– I found myself doing yoga again. Funny what devices the universe/God uses to teach us a lesson. Dear Universe, Dear God – I am listening.

 

 

Leave a Reply

