Hope for the Best, Plan for the Worst

"Soccer Ball" by satit_srihin

“Soccer Ball” by satit_srihin

Last weekend, through a series of unfortunate events, we forgot my son’s very last soccer game of the season. I like to think I’m a fairly organized person. It came as something of a shock to find out, well after the game, that we’d missed it. We spent the morning bowling with a favorite cousin and spent the afternoon eating and then window-shopping. When we got home and I saw the adorable last-soccer-game photos, I totally burst into tears. Parenting Fail! Why did no one warn me about moments like this?!

I felt like I was letting Boy Q down. I felt like his whole little world depended on us (it does!) and I didn’t come through for him.

In the end, I broke the news to him as best I could.

Boy Q? I have some bad news.

What?

We didn’t know that your last soccer game was today so…we missed it. It was while we were bowling.

He was laying stretched out on the floor of his room and he bowed his head down until it rested on the carpet. He stayed like that for a moment.

It’ll be okay! We can go play with Arthur and we’ll get your soccer medal then.

He sighed. “Okay. And we can play with him?

Of course.

Okay.

I’m sorry, Boy Q.

I’m proud that my kid didn’t throw a fit about something that just couldn’t be changed. I’m proud that he didn’t give us a guilt-trip. In the end, it wasn’t a big enough deal to merit my tears but I know it will leave a lasting impression on me. Until this kid can drive, I am the ruler and organizer of his social life, school life, sports life. It’s kind of a big responsibility (I’m the Mom Czar, if you will, to borrow the meaning of ‘Czar’ from the Obama Administration). I wish I could say this sort of thing will never happen again, but I know it will. Hopefully these moments are few and far between. Hopefully he remembers the good parts and not the bad. Hopefully he looks back on his childhood and remembers how hard we’re tried and how much we cared. For now, I’m just going to go check the calendar and make darn sure it doesn’t happen again anytime soon because then I’ll never hear the end of it. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Hope for the Best, Plan for the Worst

  1. I’m the mom who has to go back home for books at least every other Weds because I forget it’s library day at school, and we have missed our share of activities we totally overlooked. Maybe it will help them grow up to be a little more flexible? We can hope 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

