Tongues Like Swords

We’ve all read about respecting and building each other up instead of tearing each other down; it’s kind of an old topic. Mommy Wars, Vaccine Wars, Organic vs. Conventional…there’s always plenty to judge our fellow women for, I guess. Everyone I know struggles with confidence and self-assurance, especially in light of some of the negativity coming from others.

ID-10069176

I am not normally someone who feels self-conscious or worried about someone’s opinion of me. I’m learning that this is because I assume people will like me (I know, I know…). In the last few years, however, my general excitement and good humor has been translated from positive (energetic! enthusiastic!) to negative (spaz! too-talkative! annoying!). I’m really having trouble distancing myself from that negativity. Research actually shows that one negative comment is equal to five positive ones. That is, a negative comment outweighs positive ones and really sticks with you.

In day-to-day life it sure seems like not many of us are successful at making our words encouraging and positive. I don’t mean to sound wishy-washy; don’t get me wrong–I’m kind of a fan of witty, funny comments. But we all know that some of the things we say are personally directed and have the power to hurt.

proverb

So my post today is just a reminder. You might not realize how much power you have over those around you–from the person in line at the grocery store to your kids. Let your words be good. 

The tongue has the power of life and death…” -Proverbs 18:21

But if thought corrupts language, language can also corrupt thought.” -George Orwell, 1984

Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body.” -Proverbs 16:24

One thought on “Tongues Like Swords

  1. Indeed, I always told my students, one cold prickly, will undo numerous warm fuzzies.

    The same thing happened to me today, I was talking with my boss, showing him the awesome job another guy had done with a display, as I was talking on, my boss looked at me and said, shush….. I guess one of the other guys had started talking and I was supposed to just stop in the middle.
    It hurt nonetheless, I that about it all the way home.
    Love you darlin!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

