Are You Ready?

Have you ever heard something, or read something, that kind of knocked your socks off? A thing that made you go, “Hmmmmm” (you’re welcome for getting that song stuck in your head), or a thing that you just couldn’t shake.

A few weeks ago at church we had a guest speaker. Before he got up to speak, I was sitting in my seat watching my husband get his guitar ready as he was playing with the worship team that morning. All of the sudden, I just heard something in me say, “Caiti, aren’t you tired of just floating by…playing it safe? When are YOU going to take some risks in your life?” I tried not to think too much about the conversation in my head because it’s something I’ve been hearing for a while.

So, the guest speaker got up, and immediately started talking about faith, and taking risks in our walk… the EXACT conversation that I just played out in my head. I was speechless. I knew at that moment, God is ready…am I?

One thing that I have learned over the years, is that there are no coincidences with God.

You see, I love to bake and decorate cakes. It was never something I really planned, it just kind of happened. Growing up, we never had store bought cakes. Nothing against them, but my mom always made them. She was good at it. So, as I got a little older, I asked her to show me how she frosted cakes and so on…and I just took that and ran with it. I watched youtube videos, watched tons of episodes of Cake Boss (talkin’ about the “fahn-dahnt”)and then taught myself many other techniques.

Anyway, I might as well just come out and share my heart, and my dreams. My dream is to someday have a cake shop. Preferably, I would have a baker do the baking, and I would just do the decorating. The name isn’t written in stone, but I would love for my shop to be called “CaitiDid” or “CaitiDids” or “CaitiDid Cakes”. I loves this name for two reasons: 1. My Great-Grandma used to call me Caiti Did, and 2. People will say, “Oh, who did your cake? And the answer is simple…CaitiDid.

My other love is writing. So, somehow I would love to incorporate my love for writing into my cake shop, but it all just seems so distant. I have so many great ideas in my head, but I’ve never followed through with any of them.

It’s one of those dreams that has always been just that: A dream.

I know that God has a calling in my life, so why can’t i just leap and go with it?
It’s a scary thought to follow your dreams. I’ve never really gotten serious about it because it scares me to death to take it a step further.

Can I even afford to take this leap? Where can I rent a kitchen? Do I even need to rent a kitchen? What if someone hates their cake? What if my cake makes someone sick? What if…I fail?

But, the biggest question of all is, what if God is waiting for me to make that step? He has aligned everything so far, so it seems as though it’s my turn.

Yikes.

It scares me to think of all of the doubts swirling around in my head.  I have a bad habit of not believing in myself, and not valuing myself as I should.

But, there is also the other kind of “what if’s”.

What if it succeeds? What if my dreams come true? What if I’m finally able to significantly contribute financially to my family? What if this actually…works?

It’s time that I start taking myself a little bit more seriously. If I don’t, who will?  I have a supportive husband, and 3 children that would love to see me open up a shop.  I have family and friends who I KNOW would be behind me every step of the way.

Taking a leap of faith is a scary thought. But when I cross over the valley of uncertainty, and land on my two feet (hopefully not on my head), I will be able to stand proud knowing that God called me to leap…and I did. And I pray that He rejoices when that happens.

So, there it is.
What risk are you waiting to take?

 

3 thoughts on “Are You Ready?

Leave a Reply

