Thank You Teachers

“It takes a special person to light that fire, to raise our children’s expectations for themselves and never give up on them, no matter how challenging it might be. All of us are here because at some point, somebody did that for us.”

I have lost count of how many times my kids have come home and said,
“Mrs. Juar…I mean Mommy?” Or “Mrs. Burkhol…ah, I mean Mommy!” Then they giggle and apologize. But, I don’t think that’s necessary.
And, it’s not just this year. It has happened every year, at least once a week, since they started school.

Instead of getting upset or discouraged that they want to call me by their teachers name: it makes me feel good. I am totally ok with it. I can see why a teacher is easily confused with me…a Mommy.

These teachers take care of my kids all day long at school.
If my kids are having a bad day, it’s their teachers who are there to comfort them at school.
If my kids have a question, it’s their teachers who are there to answer it.
If my kids need a hug, there’s no doubt in my mind they would receive one.
If my kids do a good job, it’s the teachers who will praise them at school.
If my kid falls on the playground and busts his face open (yes, it happened) it was his teacher that cared for him until I got there.
The list is endless…

I’m not sure about anyone else’s school, but at ours, it’s not even just the teachers. It’s the nurses, the custodians, the Principal, the librarian, the secretaries. Everyone inside of that building has one common denominator: our children. There is no doubt in my mind that my kids are not only receiving an education while at school, but they are also being cared for.

It’s hard to see parents who aren’t even willing to be on the same page as the teachers. In order for our kids to succeed, we have to at least be willing to read from the same book! Our teachers play a huge role in sculpting our children, but as parents, we have to be willing to let them. Please remember that they do SO much more than just teach.
We are both in this together: parents and teachers.
We have to support them in every way we can, after all, they are our kids.

I’m sure you can think back to your childhood and there are teachers that pop into your head. The teacher that was soft and kind, because that’s what you needed at the time. Then there was the teacher that was stern, because that’s what you needed. Although they were only in our academic life for maybe a year, they stick with us through our lifetime.

I remember all of my teachers for different reasons…and I have carried each of them with me throughout my life.

So please, take some time to thank a teacher this week. You might not see a difference they have made in your child’s life yet, but someday you will.

8 thoughts on “Thank You Teachers

  1. As a teacher, I’m sometimes called ‘mummy’. One little boy said, “Mummy … oh … I called you mummy”. And he laughed. So cute. [That’s not a spelling mistake. In Australia, we spell mum/mummy with a u.] 😉

    Like

  2. Absolutely true words! I remember some of my teachers even after all these years! My very favorite teacher was Mrs. King. She was my sewing teacher for three years! We had a tailoring class the last two hours of the day, double credits she was able to talk the principal into allowing the extra credit! Every time I see something, I think of her and ask her to guide my scissors and my sewing machine! I remember some of my other teachers as well. Teachers are with us every single day, no matter what it is that we are doing! Embrace them, they are treasures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

