Vanilla Bean Waffles

Remy had a pretty rough week, which means Tom and I had pretty rough week. The obvious remedy was waffles for lunch. There are two secrets to light and crispy waffles: cake flour and egg whites. One of my all-time favorite cookbooks was published by Esquire Magazine in 1955. I have only ever used one recipe in the five years I’ve owned it. And I don’t even follow it exactly. But it is so good (and I’ve cut out and followed enough recipes from the current print Esquire) that I know the rest of the book must be amazing too.

the 1955 Esquire Cookbook

You can also tell it’s a great cookbook because of the illustrations

So, if you also need a small reward for making it through your week, try whipping up some waffles.

vanilla bean waffles

Oh Waffly goodnesss, you make all weeks better than they were before

Vanilla Bean Waffles (Adapted from the 1955 Esquire Cookbook) In a small bowl melt 6 tablespoons butter. Let it cool a bit while you proceed with the rest. In a medium bowl, combine 2 cups cake flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Gently whisk (or use a fork) to sift and combine. Separate 2 eggs. If your butter has cooled enough, you can add the yokes to the butter and use a fork to beat them together. Then, add 1 and 1/4 cup milk and 1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste (or just vanilla extract if that’s what you have on hand) to the butter/ egg yoke mixture. Sometimes I also like to add 1 teaspoon amaretto or almond extract. Pour your milk mixture into your flour mixture and use a fork or spatula to gently stir until just combined. Now for the most important part. Using an electric mixer (or a hand-held blender with a whisk attachment) beat the two egg whites until stiff peaks form. Gently fold the egg whites into the batter. Use your favorite waffle iron. Eat as soon as possible, right off the iron. Plates and powdered sugar optional.

6 thoughts on “Vanilla Bean Waffles

    • Amy, I was always taught to let my waffle iron season, so I am guilt free in the cleaning department. I usually just wipe down the outside with a little soapy water. Part of the trick is knowing Exactly how much batter your iron likes. And that takes practice. Lots of delicious waffle making practice. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love waffles. After a trip to America I searched high and low until I found a waffle maker in Ireland. Now it is a favourite breakfast treat in our house. I (Maria) might try these later in the week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

