A Woman I Know…

There’s this woman that I know…

I’m not sure if you’ve ever heard of a Proverbs 31 woman, but when I read that scripture I can’t help but think of her.

She is the most loving, sincere, selfless, woman that I know.

She celebrates her great days, and she finds something to celebrate on her bad days.

This woman is my Mom.

My mom.

I remember a time when I was younger, I wanted green colored contacts.  (Yes, I was in my awkward early teenage years and yes, I wanted contacts to color my eyes the same color that they already were!) Anyway, her response could have been a number of things but she simply said, “Caiti, be happy with what God gave you.”

I have carried this statement with me since the day she said it.  I’ve done my best to practice what she “preached”  and today I have come to this conclusion… I am so happy that God gave me my Mom.

She’s the one who would drop everything to sit and play a game of Candy Land with me…who will still drop anything if I need her.

The beautiful woman who used to lay down with me until I fell asleep…I think of her every night while I’m doing the same thing with my baby.

She always put us kids before herself…and she still does.

The one who taught me I was beautiful…and so is she. (Just the way she is)

The remarkable woman who has been through some junk…yet, she carries her head high and wears her heart (and grace) directly on her sleeve.

The one who would never push me away while she tried to quietly read a book…she would invite me up on the chair next to her.

She’s the one who showed me what it means to be a great mom…and  (although she might not know it) she’s still teaching me.

The woman who deserves the world…but, she would just give it away as a gift if she ever received it..just to see someone smile.

The one who helped me blossom…and in return, I have recently had the pleasure of watching her do the same thing.

The one who used to catch me at the bottom of the slide…who now assures me that no matter what…God is the One who will always be there to catch me.

meandmom

Yes, I know this woman…and I’m so happy that I have been asked to call her Mom.

I love you, Mom. Happy Birthday!

2 thoughts on “A Woman I Know…

  1. Thank you so much for your love and kindness, I am not sure I am deserving of it all but I will say that you and your brother’s make it very easy to be your mom! I have loved every minute of it! I am so proud to have you three call me mom! I love you so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

