So You’ve Had a Bad Day…

I wrote this blog originally for http://www.mrsmomdragon.com, but I thought it was perfect for today.  I had one of these days yesterday, so reading this was a great reminder…

Ever have one of those days where NOTHING goes right? Last night, I went to bed with every intention of waking up extra early and making 3 batches of Coffee cake (a family favorite!) One batch for breakfast, one for Ray to take to his store meeting and a third batch to take to a friends house. Well…apparently Eydan had a different plan. At about 4am I woke to him saying, “Eat, eat, eat”…now, I like to think I am a pretty reasonable mom, but sorry buddy…not making you breakfast at 4am. Finally, at 5:45am I got him back to sleep. My alarm was set for 6am, so I decided to go back to bed for that extra 15 minutes! (duh) Apparently, I had shut my alarm off at some point and didn’t wake up until 7:15am which gave me 40 minutes to get me, and the 3 kids ready for school. Yikes…trust me, it wasn’t pretty this morning. (Neither was my pajama outfit when I dropped the kids off)

It’s days like these where you think: If my morning was like this, I can only imagine what the rest of the day is going to be like! I just want to crawl back in bed, turn my alarm ON, and start over…wake up and I’ll be given a “re-do”. But, it doesn’t happen that way. So, I guess I just want to encourage you to make the best of each day. Pray. If your morning starts rough…pray. If your morning’s great, but afternoon is tough…pray. For me, when I do this, things get put into perspective. I realize that there is ALWAYS something to be thankful for…there is ALWAYS someone who is having a much worse day…and there is ALWAYS someone there who is going to listen…so PRAY.  I don’t guarantee that your days will get easier, but they’ll be easier to deal with!!

Sometimes, just to make myself feel like I actually had a productive day, I revisit my “to-do list” and make it look like I really did do it! By the time I’m done with my list, I think, “Sheesh, I’m good! How did I possibly get all of that done today?”

My list might look something like this:

  1. Wake up…check (Wow, 1st item on the list and I didn’t even have to change it!)
  2. Shower Get ready to shower, kids wake up: get them ready for school…check
  3. Unload dishwasher Unload it just enough to add the dishes that are currently in the sink…check
  4. Bathe Eydan Change Eydan’s diaper…check
  5. Make lunch…check (Woot woot…not changing this one either!)
  6. Plan Halloween party for school Plan Halloween party on Pinterest…check
  7. Clean bathroom Go to Bathroom…check
  8. Mop kitchen floor…Bring Chewy (our 80lb boxer, who loves to lick) in…check
  9. Make dinner Order pizza…check
  10. Clean refrigerator Move items in fridge to different shelves…check
  11. Pray (Move to #1)

4 thoughts on “So You’ve Had a Bad Day…

  1. I have lists like that and to make it look better just add a few items that were not on it that you did do so it will look like you actually did do something! Does that make any sense? You can tell what kind of day I had!

    Like

Leave a Reply

