Awkward Love Finalist #1: KS Olsen

Photo Credit: Wikimedia Commons

Photo Credit: Wikimedia Commons

Are You Having Sex With My Daughter?

Dating is a challenge for any young person. Dating when you are living at home and your parents are very strict Conservatives is another challenge altogether. My boyfriend and I were dating for about four months. He was working at a Lab in town doing Engineering and I was working at a clothing shop for the college break. He was 23, I was 19. My boyfriend always chose to come to my house after work. For many reasons, but now we realize that it was mainly for the free food (my mother was a fantastic cook).

There hadn’t really any been real controversies or conflicts in our dating relationship. We were very compatible and comfortable with each other, maybe too much so as the story would reveal. I was the first one in my family to date and he was my first serious boyfriend. My mom loved him but my father was not so sure. I am sure he saw him as a threat, a threat to my chastity.

One evening my boyfriend came to our house for dinner. We had finished eating and were sitting next to one another, at the other end of the table from my dad. I was affectionately patting his stomach.

Suddenly my dad stood up and angrily shouted “Are you guys having sex?!!! Where is your hand? WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR HAND?”

Boyfriend was stunned. I was horrified. I stood up, found the words to express my complete mortification at his behavior, and we left.He followed us outside and we had a somewhat heated exchange on the front lawn where my boyfriend stumbled and fumbled and finally said “It’s really none of your business, but the answer is No, I am NOT having sex with your daughter!!!”

Twenty-three years of marriage together and three kids later, and the truth has never come out.

But when my father asked to sleep with his girlfriend in our apartment (after my mom passed away), I took too much enjoyment in telling him No.

Because I was taught different.

Like this story? Voting will be open soon. View all of our “Awkward Love” stories here.

4 thoughts on “Awkward Love Finalist #1: KS Olsen

  1. Pingback: Vote Now – “Awkward Love” Contest Finalsts | Rocky Parenting

Leave a Reply

