My Childhood Hero will be on a Reality TV Show

Clifford Robinson

Clifford Robinson

My family moved to Oregon in 1988 at the beginning of the Portland Trail Blazer’s glory years. As a high school basketball player, those athletes were my heroes. Clyde Drexler, Terry Porter, Buck Williams, Jerome Kersey, Kevin Duckworth were the starting five and Clifford Robinson came off the bench first and won the league’s award for, “Best Six Man.”

This was a group of stand up guys – not the current NBA egos that make the news for DUIs, drug possession and street racing. These were the kind of guys that went to local high school basketball games in Portland on Friday nights, sat quietly in the stands watching with the parents and then shook hands with the players after the game.

Some of my friends had posters of Kirk Cameron and Tom Cruise in their bedrooms. Buck Williams boxing out for a sick rebound was on mine. The whole team lined up in their warm up jerseys with Coach Rick Adelman was on my ceiling. Oregon was the first state my family had lived in that had a professional sports team of any kind, so Blazer-mania was our life in the 80s and early 90s.

For the past decade or so, I’ve loved watching Survivor on CBS. I don’t watch much other TV, but something about Survivor intrigues me. The warm tropical islands, the gladiator-like challenges and the social interactions all combined in an hour of intense competition has me hooked. I usually don’t even let my husband watch with me because he asks too many questions, “Who is that? Why are they telling so-and-so? What is that person’s name again?”

So, recently I saw that one of my childhood heroes, Clifford Robinson, #3 (didn’t even have to google that) will be on the next season of Survivor.

Whoa! Two of my greatest loves coming together. I’m already nervous for the crash. I know it is a lot of pressure to put on you, Mr. Robinson, but I really hope you are as awesome at Survivor as you were in the NBA. Please don’t disappoint me. And be sure to bring your headband.

I really hope to see you dunking on someone in a challenge, tossing some assists to those in your alliance and dancing the “Uncle Cliffy” with Jeff Probst at the final Tribal Council.

Leave a Reply

