The Reluctant Working Mom

Girl Librarian

Girl Librarian

Recently I started working as a substitute for two nearby library districts. I’ve been a stay-at-home mom since my son (now five) was born. At the time I was working full-time as a librarian. Dad Q. and I crunched numbers and decided that the cost of childcare largely negated any money I’d be making. Take-home pay=$200. So. Not. Worth. It.

So I became a SAHM*.

Now Dad Q. has a new job (makes less $), our kids are getting older, and I need to get out of the house. Subbing is ideal-I’m never the one who is totally in charge (i.e. the one who has to clean up puke or has to kick out unruly patrons) and I can do it as our schedule allows.  Every time I get an email about cleaning out the break room, I gleefully delete it! I love working in public libraries, I do, but…

…I wasn’t ready to go back to work yet. The fact is that if we had been successful in having another Q Baby, I wouldn’t be interested in working at all. I’ve always planned on going back to work. I just didn’t know it would be happening so soon.

But it is.

Instead of focusing on the in-between, I am choosing (read–really trying) to focus on the fact that in many ways I get the best of both worlds. I am a mostly-stay-at-home-mom who happily works sometimes. That’s not too shabby.

*I don’t know how you full-time Working Moms do it! Just working outside the home a little has really impressed upon me how difficult it can be logistically to figure out two jobs, school schedules, appointments, sports, blah, blah, etc., etc. Not to mention rarities like a night out. It is truly a balancing act. You are awesome.

One thought on “The Reluctant Working Mom

Leave a Reply

