Farewell Facebook

It's not you, it's me. Well, it's also you...

It’s not you, it’s me. Well, okay, it’s also you…

Dear Facebook,

We’ve been together now for a little more than two years, and in many ways it has been wonderful. You’ve given me a forum to reconnect with some people I truly missed, to connect with some people I like and respect.

I enjoy seeing pictures of my friends’ families sometimes, and I enjoy knowing where people’s lives have taken them (and where they’ve taken themselves).

But seriously, I need some time. And no, not just some time where I don’t check you or post very often, I mean time where we don’t see each other at all.

Yes, that’s right. Deactivation time.

…I hate to kick you while I’m in the middle of dumping you, but really, I don’t trust you, you’re a major time drain, and also, you get on my nerves.

I can’t trust you, first of all, because someone keeps trying to hack my account. Kudos to you for letting me know, but still, the second time it happened in a month made me a little uneasy.

You caught those breaches of security (thank you!) but what about these pages I supposedly ‘like’ that I never actually ‘liked’ and don’t, in fact, like, AT ALL…what’s up with those? They show up in my activity log and everything. Are you trying to make me feel like I’m going crazy? That’s not nice, or healthy. We really need to go our separate ways!

As for getting on my nerves, it’s come to my attention (again and again) that you are not a forum supportive of civil political debate, even though I really wanted you to be. People have their opinions and preach to their selected choirs, myself included. Sometimes this comes off as balanced, but often a little sanctimonious, sometimes even vitriolic. Sometimes it’s about Obama. Sometimes it’s about water fluoridation. Sometimes it’s about guns.

Sometimes (and I think this is what drove me over the edge last night) it’s even about Santa Claus.

Although I like to think I never spew vitriol, I’ve been known to get on my soap box, and I generally reproach myself for it later because I understand, again, that you just aren’t the forum. I am preaching to the choir on one hand, and causing people with different opinions to ignore me, or hide me from their feed on the other. What’s the point?

In other words, I need to accept you for who you are, and aren’t.

That said, it’s been interesting. I may be back one day. Like I already acknowledged, you have your good points. But I feel so good after deactivating you last night, I’m pretty sure it’s going to be awhile before I even consider it.

In the meantime, the world (and you) will just have to live without my brilliant insights about ‘how I’m feeling’, and the odd photo of the kiddos and me. The people who really care about either of those things have my number, so it shouldn’t be a problem.

Putting it simply, I can live without you, Facebook, and prefer to for the time being.

Sincerely,

Paris

8 thoughts on “Farewell Facebook

  1. Oh, I have such a love/hate relationship with facebook most days – I am still undecided on where I want to go in my relationship with it. I post more than I read now – because I just don’t take the time to even glance at the news feed anymore. If someone hacked my account, I would be very worried. But, my friends locally and I use it to plan events and that is probably the best use it has at this point.

    Like

    • I agree it can be really useful for those types communication. Yeah, the security issues pushed me out the door a bit because I didn’t feel I could leave my account active without checking on it. And then I’d get sucked in!

      Like

  2. Kudos to you! I want to deactivate my account as well, but just can’t get up the nerve! I spend too much time on it, and usually just end up a little aggravated after reading through the newsfeed. Maybe I should just go for it?

    Like

    • That is exactly how I was feeling. I pondered this a while before deactivating my account and I’m feeling quite relieved now that I’ve gone through with it. One less thing to keep track of! Pay attention to how you feel when you use it and go from there. If you do decide to deactivate it doesn’t necessarily have to be permanent either. FB can be useful and I reserve the right to reactivate in the future, although I don’t see that happening anytime soon, and I am making the decision not to use it as daily entertainment ever again.

      Like

  3. Howdy would youu mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then
    most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Apologies for getting off-topic butt I had to ask!

    Like

Leave a Reply

