Day 23: A Lesson in Advice

 

English: A typical Deutsche Bahn railway stati...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It is so hard for me to believe that it is already October of 2013! Where has this year gone?

 

.
I remember when I was pregnant with Emaleigh. Other than the constant un-wanted pregnancy advice from strangers, I remember people always urging me to “cherish the moments because they go by so fast!” And boy, were they right.

 

.
During some seasons of our lives, it may seem like time moves so slowly, but when you look back…it really does fly.

 

.
High school seems like a life time ago, as well as college. Those seasons just blew right on by. But when you have kids…time seems to move at an even faster speed.

 

.
We can get so caught up in our daily routine of things, that we literally forget to just stop…breath…and look around.

 

.
As for me, I get so wrapped up in making sure that my kids are off to school, have lunch money, have their homework done, have done their chores, have brushed their teeth, have changed their underwear (yes, “I changed them the other day” has been said before in our household) and have everything they need to start the day again in the morning. And, before I know it, we have survived another week.

 

.
It struck me today. Sometimes I feel like I am so wrapped up in the role of being a “mother”, that I forget that I was a “wife” first. And, even before “wife” I was just Caiti.

 

.
It is extremely important for me to take time out of each day for just me (and not feel guilty about it). I literally have to remind myself to do it.

 

.
Yes, call me crazy but I feel guilty for taking time out for me. Why? Because I feel like I’m letting my family down. But, the reason it is so important to me is because sometimes I feel like I give and give of myself…that I just need a brief period of quiet “me time” to refuel my tank.

 

.
I think we all need time to focus on ourselves, on our identity. And that is why I enjoy blogging so much…it’s my time to focus on me.

 

.
Not only is that important, it’s also important that I spend time with just my best friend, my husband.
These last two weekends the kids have spent their Mondays off of school with their grandparents. So, Ray and I have spent his day off…together…just us. Although we miss the kids terribly, it’s nice to just be together and remember why we got married almost a decade ago! (Is it just me or does a decade make it sound much longer than 10 years?)

 

.
Anyway, as we come to the end of 2013, I encourage you all to not just try to make it through each day…enjoy each day. Time moves so fast as it is. So, enjoy your family. Enjoy your husband. Enjoy your kids. Enjoy your life…don’t just live through it.

 

3 thoughts on “Day 23: A Lesson in Advice

  1. I remember all those helpful “they grow up so fast” commenters from when my kids were little. It’s true but I hate to admit it since I was so annoyed at the time. I bite my tongue so as not to say it to others, but once your life is measured in school years, time flies.

    Like

  2. I can remember hearing the same thing oh so many years ago. And I am happy to say I am giving that advise because it is the truth. Thanks Caiti for your reminder to not forget about who YOU are!

    Like

Leave a Reply

